Making a site

With our Dramweaver lessons coming to a close, I have begun to think about what I want my own website to say and how I want to portray that content. I went on a Google search (I mean, what else am I supposed to do?) and I found a site called Think Traffic and an article called 42 Timeless Ideas for Attracting More Visitors to Your Website. And the site had some good ideas. The first thing that is said is about content and making it so people want to know what it is you have to say. You should not be afraid to say what is on your mind, and you need to make people care about what you post. If you are posting content that makes people bored, they are probably not coming back.

 Screen Shot 2013-10-09 at 3.31.17 PM

Overall, I agree with what is said on the site. You have to make the site functional, yet pretty. I think this is going to be where I run into troubles. In the mass comm world, the hardest area for me is design. I have no artistic skill and I cannot design to save my life. So if anyone has any suggestions for me on how to make my site not suck, I would be more than appreciative.

3 thoughts on “Making a site

  1. I totally understand how you feel about being artistic, because I’m not either. It’s easy to put some words together that sound good to make a good sentence but it takes patience and a couple of errors to get something right on a website. I believe with websites you have to be a people pleaser, give the people what they want, after first knowing your target audience. I believe INTERACTION is key, if I’m able to engage with the site, the longer I’ll stay and browse.

  2. 1. Keep your design simple. And I mean really simple. Find a font style and color scheme you like and then keep it consistent.
    2. If you can follow the advice in step 3 (write epic shit), you are golden.

  3. I agree with what the article says and I for see myself trying to incorporate the advice that it gives. I do not believe though that I will have any trouble holding back on what I have to say.

Leave a Reply

